Whittlesford Parish Council is just 1 of 106 individual parish councils within the district of South Cambridgeshire.

The Parish Council provides an interface with local government and influence many aspects of village life. It is the place to begin if you want to be involved in the decisions that directly affect you and your community.

Who is on the Parish Council?

With the exception of the Parish Clerk (who receives a modest salary) the residents who serve on the Parish Council are volunteers who give their time freely for the good of our community. You can find out more about ‘Your Parish Council’ here on the website under the header ‘Your Parish Council’

When and where does the Parish Council meet?

The Parish Council meet at 7:30pm on every second Tuesday of the month in the Millenium Room of the Memorial Hall, the entrance to which is in Mill Lane. The Annual Parish Meeting is also held in the Memorial Hall.

Can I come to Parish Council meetings?

Absolutely! You are welcome to attend the public monthly meetings and annual general meeting. This is a great opportunity to find out what it going on in and around your village, to have your say and even to find out how you can get involved in helping to make your village a better place for all.

How do I present my ideas or concerns to the Parish Council?

If possible, you might consider discussing the matter first with either the Parish Clerk or one of your Parish Councillors. They may be able to give you valuable background and support you in putting your views to the Council. Next, put your thoughts into writing as either a letter or an email to the Parish Clerk and attend next Parish Council meeting. Correspondence from residents is read out in the meeting for discussion.

How is the Parish Council elected?

The next Parish Council election is presently scheduled for May 2018.
However, should you wish to join the parish council, then please do get in touch, as vacancies often become available.

How do I apply to serve on the Parish Council?

Vacancies are generally publicised in the Look magazine. If you wish to apply, write to the Parish Council telling them about yourself, why you would like to be a Councillor and what contribution you feel you would make.

What do the sub-committees do and who serves on them?

The Parish Council has a number of sub-committees dedicated to specific areas parish council business, for example planning, highways, allotments & open spaces.

Scheduled dates for Parish Council Meetings – 2018
9th January 2018
13th February 2018
13th March 2018
10th April 2018
8th May 2018
12th June 2018
10th July 2018
No Meeting in August.
11th September 2018
9th October 2018
12th November 2018
11th December 2018

The APM is yet to be confirmed but is currently scheduled for 22nd May 2018

 

USEFUL VILLAGE CONTACTS

Allotments – Please contact the Parish Clerk : parishclerk@whittlesford.org

Archaelogy Group – Ashley Arbon – (01223) 833054 – a.arbon@hotmail.co.uk

Ballet & Tap Class – (01223) 833708

Bowles (Duxford) – (01223) 842765

Beavers, Cubs & Scouts – http://www.wanddscouts.org.uk

Brownies – (01223) 836306

Carpet Bowles – (01223) 837038

County & District Councillor – Peter Topping – petertopping@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Flower Club – Mrs Freda Orgee – (01223) 891464

First World War Group – Meg Holland – (01223) 833386 – megholland@tesco.net

Gardening Club – Terry Hopkins – (01223) 840596

Great Shelford Health Centre – (01223) 843661

Hospital Car Service – Michael Walker – (01223) 824272

LOOK Magazine – Editorial / Production – Chris Livermore – chrislivermore1@gmail.com – (01223) 835737

Advertising / Treasurer – David Wright – cam@dkw66.plus.com (01223) 833063

Memorial Hall Bookings Clerk – Penny Toop – (01223) 835252.  Caretaker – Beverly Arnold – (01223) 835555

Millennium Group – Martin Livermore – martinlivermore@gmail.com – (01223) 835737

Music Club – John Lester – (01223) 847877

Nicholas Swallow & other charities – Clerk – Nicholas Tufton – nicholas@ntufton.co.uk – (01763) 848888

Parish Council Chairman – Arthur Greaves – arthurgreaves@btinternet.com – (01223) 835186

Parish Council Clerk – Marie Swann – marie.t.swann@btopenworld.com / parishclerk@whittlesford.org

Sawston Health Centre – (01223) 727555 – http://www.grantamedicalpractices.co.uk

Tickell Arms – (01223) 833025

Village Vet – (01223) 833651 –

Whittlesford Cricket Club – Peter Snow – peterjohnsnow@btinternet.com

Whittlesford Social Club – (01223) 832231

Whittlesford Society – http://www.whittlesfordsociety.info

Whittlesford Tennis Club – Neil Barber – (01223) 837259

Whittlesford United Football Club – http://www.wufc.org.uk

Whittlesford Warriors Football Club – http://www.whittlesfordwarriorsfc.org.uk

Whittlewomen – Judy Richardson – (01223) 839417

Whittleweb Administrator – Marie Swann – marie.t.swann@btopenworld.com

Whitsers Pre School Playgroup – admissions@whitsers.org.uk   http://www.whitsers.org.uk

William Westley School – (01223) 832176 – office@williamwestley.cambs.sch.uk

Whittlesford Out of School Club – bookings@wosclub.co.uk   http://www.wosclub.co.uk

W I (Duxford) – Jill Jevtic – (01223) 834755